XIth Convocation Ceremony Of The Lotus College Of Optometry

XIth Convocation Ceremony Of The Lotus College Of Optometry

During the ceremony, 21 bachelors and 7 post-graduates were awarded degrees

The Lotus College of Optometry, Mumbai, celebrated its XIth Convocation ceremony on March 20th, 2015. The dignitaries entered the auditorium with the traditional graduation march.

The solemn ceremony began by invoking the blessings of Lord Ganesha. The Chief Guest was Dr Praful Desai, Senior Surgical Oncologist, Mumbai, and former director of Tata Memorial Hospital and Medical Centre. The dignitaries on the dais were Navin Shah, Chairman of Lotus Hospital Trust, Dr B. R. Barwale, Trustee – Lotus Trust, Dr Jaydeep Nikam, Director, School of Health Sciences, YCMOU, Dr Preethi Pradhan, Dean – Chitkara School of Health Sciences, Anahita Dastur, Chairperson, Pancham Kulkarni, Registrar, and Prema Chande, Principal of Lotus College of Optometry.

After lighting the ceremonial lamp, PremaChande delivered the welcome address. She gave a brief overview of the activities conducted by the college in the pastDSC_7342(1) year and highlighted the achievements in the last academic year. Anahita Dastur briefed the audience on the future plans regarding growth and development of Lotus College. During her talk, she described the Baliwalla-Kotiyan project of providing free low vision devices to needy individuals, and Dr Praful Desai and Dr Preethi Pradhan unveiled the plaque and declared the project open. This was feasible due to a donation received from Mr Kotiyan from the UK, a friend of Late Shree Naval P Baliwalla. This was followed by the felicitation of Dr Desai and Dr Pradhan, the Guest of Honour.

The convocation ceremony then began with the Optometry Oath taken by the young graduates. Awards and certificates were then distributed by Dr Desai and Dr Pradhan. The best out-going student of the year award for B.Optom program was given to Mrudul Naik. The Dr Kankaria scholarship of Rs. 25,000/- was given to Sana Merchant, for her all-round performance during the four academic years. Lotus College graduated 21 bachelors and 7 post graduates in the year 2014. Deepali Asolkar was awarded as the best out-going student for the Master’s batch for the year 2014.

The convocation ceremony concluded with a vote of thanks by Hiral Korani. The ceremony was a well-attended function by several dignitaries from the ophthalmic and optometric fraternities, alumni, and parents.