HOYA Announces The Winners Of Their 2013 Grant And Scholarship Program

download (1)HOYA Announces the Winners of the 2013 Grant and Scholarship Program. All 20 Optometry Schools Place a Student Winner in Annual ePoster Contest.

For the first time HOYA Vision Care’s ePoster contest placed a winner from every optometry school resulting in 20 winners of a $1,000 grant and one grand prize grant scholarship winner of an additional $6,000. The Grant Winners also received an all expense paid trip to the AOA Meeting and an iPad.

“I continue to be impressed by the young people entering the field of optometry,” stated Barney Dougher, President of HOYA Vision Care, NA, he continued, “Mike Elton, our Director of Professional Services, does an incredible job of reaching out to all of the schools and developing programs that excite and inspire students to participate.”

The awards luncheon was held at the San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel on June 28th in conjunction with the AOA’s annual meeting. The Scholarship Winner, Dr. James Thirion, graduated in May and is already employed at an NSU clinic that serves the Cherokee Nation and was unable to attend the luncheon.

“It was an amazing year for this competition,” noted Mike Elton, “This is the first time in seven years of the program that we had a Grant Winner from every school, an all time high of 75 entries, and three repeat grant winners. I couldn’t be happier with the results and the opportunity to help so many students.”

Judging was based on originality, application of technology involved, product knowledge and overall analysis and composition.

A complete list of winners from each school is as  follows:

Scholarship Winner


James Thirion, O.D.

Northeastern State University College of Optometry

Grant Winners

Robert Kloepfer, O.D.

Illinois College of Optometry

Dan Mlnarik

Indiana University School of Optometry

Sundeep Kaur

Inter American University School of Optometry

Jamie Leung, O.D.

Michigan College of Optometry

Erika Anderson, O.D.

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry

Kelly Keane, O.D.

New England College of Optometry

Bryan Mirone

NOVA Southeastern University College of Optometry

Kari Ann Smart

Pacific University College of Optometry

Marshall Walker

Salus University Pennsylvania College of Optometry

Julie Phan, OD

Southern California College of Optometry

Joshua Watt, O.D.

Southern College Of Optometry

Matthew Bovenzi

SUNY State College of Optometry

Kelsey Shiley, O.D.

The Ohio State University College of Optometry

Nicholas Norris

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry

Jennifer Khem

University of California at Berkeley School of Optometry

Craig Scibal

University of Houston College of Optometry

Vance Lewis

University of Missouri at St. Louis College of Optometry

Kumar Patel

University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry

Nanar Hovasapian

Western University College of Optometry


Current Issues



South East Asia

Sign Up